📚september wrap up📚

September was a bit of a calmer month for me. For some reason, as the weather started to change, reading became slower for me. Over the entire month, I ended up reading six books. Thankfully, they’re mostly books that I really ended up enjoying!

Without too much babble, let’s move on to the books I ended up reading in September!

Annihilation by Jef Vandermeer

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Annihilation is a book that I started back in August, but despite the fact that it is a short book, did not manage to finish. I ended up rating this book four stars, as despite the fact that it is weird I really enjoyed it and the mystery that it contained. Things were crazy, they didn’t always make sense. But the most important part is that I had a good time reading it.

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Cemetery Boys has to be my favorite book that I read all month. It came out recently, from a debut author, but let me tell you, it did not read like one whatsoever. From the beginning, I was completely immersed in Yadriel’s world and the struggles he faces. He is stuck in a very difficult position, being a trans brujo and not being accepted as such by his family. It is such a beautiful tale about friendship and love and accepting yourself, but also getting your family to accept you for who you are as a person.

Please, if you read any books, please read this one.

The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I had been eying City of Brass for a really long time and I am really glad that I finally got around to reading it this month. All in all, there were parts of this book that I loved, and parts that I didn’t love quite as much. That being said, I now have the rest of the series on my bookshelves, so needless to say, I did feel the need to continue. Hopefully soon, maybe still this year.

Everything Leads to You by Nina Lacour

Rating: 4 out of 5.

About this book I can be relatively short, and just say that I really did enjoy the novel. It was a fun, sapphic story with just the right amounts of suspense for me. If anything, it really, really confirmed that reading stories about sapphic girls just makes my heart extra happy

Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I read this book for the Spooky Bitches Book Club hosted over at Twitter and I am so glad that I decided to join in. The liveshow was a lot of fun, but besides that, the book was amazing. I loved this novel a lot. It was just the right kind of horror to spook and excite me, while also bringing me in the mood to set up a tbr for October for some spooky reads.

The sirens were incredibly well done in this novel and after hearing Weezy talk about the novella in this series, I am very tempted to pick the prequel up too.

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Sadly, I didn’t love this book as much as I wanted to. I just didn’t end up loving the main character. She felt very childish to me, in a way that I usually do not expect in YA novels. Besides that though, it is a very interesting world and I will be picking up the rest of the books in the series, even if just to figure out how the writing and the characters change throughout the series.

How did your reading month go? Please do some talk to me about the books you’ve loved this month.

One thought on “📚september wrap up📚

Leave a comment